Hearts Surrendered: Part 2

A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of. 
John 10:6‭-‬10 MSG

I love the Bible. Sometimes I forget how good God’s Word is. My time in it can become complacent and I find myself just glossing over the most Holy words I’ll ever read.

When I create these scripture plans I pray and ask for the Lord’s guidance as I select the verses for each month. Yet almost daily I am amazed at how timely His Word is.

The verse for today is one I’ve read countless times. It’s one that has given me hope even on my most hopeless of days. And still yet, when I looked at the verse for today I thought to myself- I wonder if people grow tired of these verses?

Maybe it’s just me? But I have the tendency to tune out when I think I know what’s going on. My brain and heart shift to autopilot and I cruise along, not pausing to let my heart reflect in that moment.

So this morning, I was tempted to do the same. I prayed, Lord, how can this speak to me and to others?

And just as He always is- He was faithful again today.

I referenced several translations and settled on the Message.. I wrote out the verse

"A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of."

And as I usually do, I began circling and underlining words that stuck out to me.

  • Thief
  • Real
  • Eternal
  • Better
  • Dreamed of

Who or what is the thief in my life? Several things came to mind. I’m sure you can think of some of the thieves in your life. If not, I encourage you to ask the Lord to reveal them to you.

Jesus came for us- for me and for you. So that we could have life. I know our verse yesterday from Luke tells us to give up our own way. At first glance, I am tempted to look at that verse and think that God wants me to be miserable.

I am tempted to believe that in order to follow Jesus, I can’t enjoy my life here on earth.

I am tempted to forget all the scriptures that remind me He wants the best for me.

Scriptures like:

  • Psalm 37:4
  • Psalm 20:4
  • Psalm 21:2
  • Psalm 145:16
  • Song of songs 7:10

And then we look at our verse today and right there in red letters He tells us He came so we could have the kind of life we can’t even begin to imagine!

It’s not that he doesn’t want to fulfill the desires of my heart.

He wants me to desire Him more than anything else.

It’s not that He wants me to have an unfulfilled life.

He wants me to know that nothing in this life even comes close to the life I have in Him.

Hey friend, the enemy, he wants to steal every good thing from you and he will try again and again. But be encouraged!

Jesus is the Good Shepherd.

He wants the best for you and friend, the best for you, you can’t even begin to imagine what that looks like.

If we read further down, Jesus says, “No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord.” John 10:18a

Friend, just like Jesus, we have the choice to surrender. It’s up to you and it’s up to me. This temporary life or a real eternal life filled with abundance beyond our comprehension.

Dear Heavenly Father, I am so thankful for Your Word. I am thankful that it is alive and active in me. Lord, when I am tempted to forget the plans you have for me, remind me. When I am tempted to turn on autopilot, redirect me. When I am tempted to give in, revive me. Help me Lord to want You more than anything else. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

With Love,

Shandyn

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close