Finding Joy in Every Day

"She had a sister named Mary. Mary sat at the Lord's feet listening to what he said. But Martha was busy with all the things that had to be done."
Luke 10:39-40a

Fall is finally here, friend and this season is easily my favorite. The colors and the cool breeze are a welcome refreshment.

The last few months have felt a bit heavy. There’s been a lot going on and time hasn’t stopped for any of it.

With October here and the holidays quickly approaching, I knew my heart needed some realignment. God has been speaking joy over me and I felt others may need a healthy does of joy, too! And so, our scripture plan this month is “Finding Joy in Every Day”.

The truth is, some days don’t always feel joyful. Some days the hard seems to outweigh the happy.

But happiness doesn’t equal joy and hard doesn’t negate it, either.

I believe it is possible to be living both a hard yet joy-filled life. But I wouldn’t say it’s easy. I wouldn’t say it’s second nature. I’d say it requires mindfulness and intention. I’d say it requires a willing spirit on my part to take hold of the joy I’ve been given amidst all the other things I’ve picked up along the way.

Finding joy in every day means looking for God. It means looking for good when the world wants us to see all the bad. It is being expectant that God will still be good in the face of hard times. Finding joy in every day is not passive. It’s something I get to choose every day- to look for the joy.

Our verse yesterday is from Luke 10. Many know the story of Mary and her sister Martha but just incase, here’s a quick recap.

The sisters were anticipating the arrival of their friend Jesus.

{{{Now imagine you’re having a dinner party. You may have a menu prepared. Maybe you spent a good bit of the day cleaning and tidying up your house. Perhaps you bought a new fall-scented candle to make sure the ambiance was just right.}}}

I’m sure that’s what Mary and Martha did, too. But once Jesus arrived, Mary stopped doing all the things. I imagine she greeted Jesus and took His sandals to the guest room. And then she did what any good host would do. She sat with her guest.

But Martha wanted to make sure everything was perfect. Was the food almost ready? Did the candle smell just right? Were all the cobwebs swept away? Was there a fresh roll of toilet paper available?

Okay so maybe I’m telling a more modern day Mary and Martha, but friend you get my point, right?

Mary situated herself at Jesus’ feet. She was taking in everything He had to say. I imagine she hung on every word. But Martha was busy with all the other things. Martha was more concerned with the dinner than the company of her guest.

We’ve all been there. When there’s work to be done but it appears others are slacking on the job. Martha wanted her sister to help.

But Jesus wanted Martha.

In verse 42 Jesus tells Martha, “Mary has chosen what is better.”

As I read through this story again the other day something struck me. Mary chose what was better.

Instead of choosing hurry she chose to hold space.

Instead of worrying she chose to worship.

Instead of scurrying she chose to settle.

And I believe there at the feet of Jesus, Mary found true joy.

How often do I choose hurry?

How often do I find myself worried?

How often am I scurrying to get things done?

And where does all that leave me? Exhausted, deflated, and flat.

But when I hold space for Jesus, when I choose to worship Him instead of worrying about all the things, when I slow down and settle in at His feet, it is there I find joy in His presence.

Friend, I get it. I really do. Even yesterday (when I had intentions of writing this post) we were scurrying from here to there. We had a free day but that meant a to-do list a mile long. And in the middle of my day I felt flat. And so I took a few minutes to settle in. And I reminded myself- true joy is found at the feet of Jesus.

Not that what Martha chose was bad… it wasn’t. But it wasn’t the better choice.

The things we choose may not be bad… but there is always something better.

Friend, will you join me this month as we settle at His feet, breathe in His presence, and find true joy?

The FREE scripture plan and journal for this month can be found right here! I hope you’ll download it. I pray you’ll share it with a friend who could use some encouragement. Whatever you do, I pray you’ll feel His overwhelming presence through it all.

I can’t wait to find joy in every day!

With love,

Shandyn

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close