The Harvest Will Come

"So let us not grow weary in doing what is right,
for we will reap at harvest time,
if we do not give up."
Galatians 6:9

Hey friend! Goodness, how are we already into the third week of September? We are working our way through the scripture plan this month but if you’re just finding this space- WELCOME! I’m so glad you’re here and I would love for you to join us through the rest of this month in God’s Word. You can find this month’s scripture plan and journal, Tunneling through Trials, right here. Did I mention it’s FREE. Nothing to click or sign up for- just a freebie because I love creating content that helps you study the Word.

Now… onto our verse for today (well… really it was yesterday’s verse but I’m behind! I’m proof that perfection is not the goal and it’s okay if you’re behind, too).

Galatians 6:9 is one of my very favorite verses in all of scripture- probably because it is a reminder I am in constant need of. It says, “So let us not grow weary in doing what is right, for we will reap at harvest time, if we do not give up.”

Let us not grow weary…

Friend, I don’t know about you but I was weary just reading the word! Just kidding. But in all seriousness… I feel like lately our world is almost in a constant state of weariness.

Merriam-Webster defines weary as exhausted in strength, endurance, vigor, or freshness.

As I read this verse the other day it got me thinking about the seasons. Do you have a favorite season? I’ve always loved fall- the jewel tones of Autumn bring a cheeriness to my heart. I like Spring, too. As the air transitions from frigid to fresh and crisp and flowers sprout through the dirt, I am reminded of the hope the newness brings. I like Summer too although I tend to grow weary of the scorching hot days. And let’s be honest, I’d rather wear jeans and a comfy sweatshirt any day! Winter has always been my least favorite. I don’t enjoy being cold and the dark and dreary days can seem to drag on forever.

Long story short… I like the planting and harvesting seasons. But I’m not too fond of the preparation and growing seasons.

It’s in those seasons when I tend to grow weary.

But Paul cautions us in our verse not to grow weary. He tells us to keep on planting. Continue tending to the seeds and the soil. Nourish what we’ve already planted (and keep on planting even more) and watch what is bound to spring forth!

But waiting for the harvest can be hard. Waiting for the fruit of my labor can be tiresome. I tend to grow weary while I’m waiting on the right time.

Do you ever grow weary, friend? Do you feel like you’ve been planting yet you still can’t see the fruit? Do you feel like the growing season is taking longer than you’d like? Are you wondering if the harvest time will ever come?

Weary… exhausted in freshness.

Are you feeling your freshness fade?

What season are you in, friend? Are you preparing, planting, growing, or harvesting?

If you’re waiting on the harvest, can I encourage you? Keep going. But continuing on doesn’t mean it has to look the same as it did when you started out. You can shift and change. You can readjust. You can till the ground and start again.

But whatever you do… don’t give up. Pause. Take a breath. Find freshness again. And keep going.

Keep going, friend- the harvest will come.

And while you continue on, so will I. Even on the hard days. Even in the slow seasons. I will continue on because He assures me there will be a harvest.

With love,

Shandyn

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close