God Fills The Gaps . . .

November is finally upon us.

I love November for many reasons. The fall colors are beautiful. The crisp air is a welcome change from the sultry heat of summer. Some of my favorite people were born in this awesome month- which makes it all the more sweet. I love it because it means we are that much closer to Christmas and I LOVE all things Christmas. I know some people tend to think being overly excited about Christmas means skipping over Thanksgiving. I, however, do not share that same sentiment.

To me, preparing my heart for Christmas is in itself a time of Thanksgiving. As I listen to the songs about my Savior being born, I am immediately grateful. And being thankful for Him, leads me to be thankful for so many other things as well.

Today, as I popped on Facebook, I was quickly reminded of what happened on this day a few years ago. I had been in Tennessee to celebrate my grandparent’s 60th wedding anniversary. There was a video of my oldest son with my grandmother as she taught him how to make homemade biscuits. (She makes the best) There was also a picture that nearly brought tears to my eyes. It was a picture of me with my grandpa, Pa, as I like to call him.

12189848_10208240196224490_253879668448431938_n

It’s not the greatest picture of me, but I love it. You see, this man is amazing. Sure, there have been times in my life when we haven’t always seen eye to eye on things. And that’s okay. We don’t always need to see eye to eye in order for me to know how much he loves and cares for me. To know, despite our differences, he’ll always be there to give me encouragement, to pray for me and with me, and to cry with me- all of which he has done on multiple occasions.

You see, I was raised by my Mom. My dad was never around much. I don’t really know why, but that’s just the way it was. I didn’t have that steady father figure I had always longed for. To be totally honest, I was envious of my friends who had the daddy/daughter relationship I so desperately wanted.

But that was never the case. I would never get the chance to have that relationship.

Today, as I looked at the picture of me with my Pa, it filled my heart with so much joy. Despite the pain of not having my dad around, God knew how to help fill that void.

In the moments when I didn’t have a daddy to call me his little princess, my Pa would always remind me I was his little sugarplum.

When I found myself lost and unsure what steps to take next, my Pa was always there to offer guidance and support.

When I came to him with questions about my faith, he always walked along side me guiding me on the right path (and still does).

When I told him I wanted to go on a mission trip, he helped make that a reality.

And when I called him on his birthday this year, he could tell in my voice that something wasn’t right. On a day that should have been about him, he was more concerned about me.

So today, I am thankful. Beyond thankful. I am immensely blessed that God knew what I would need. He knew there was a gap to be filled and instead of leaving it empty, He gave me an amazing Grandpa. He gave me a man to show me what true love looks like. I can see it through my grandparents each day. He gave me a man who loves God above all else.

This blog may not mean a thing to anyone but me . . . but I hope what you get from this blog post is this: All of us have gaps in our lives. We all have voids that need to be filled. The only One who can fill them is our amazing Heavenly Father. And sometimes, He uses people to fill those voids.

Paul says in Ephesians 1:16, “I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.”

As we enter into the Thanksgiving season, I challenge you to think about the ways the Lord has filled in your gaps. What needs has he met in your life? Are there certain people you are thankful for? Let them know how much you treasure them.

Dear Heavenly Father,

Lord, thank You so much that Your plan is always greater than our plans! Lord, if I could’ve chosen, I would have chosen to have a dad who wanted to be in my life. But God, You knew my needs more than I did and You provided me with my exact needs. Lord, thank You for my Pa. Thank You for blessing me with such an amazing person- who daily points me back to You. Lord, in our times when we question our circumstances and the gaps in our hearts, may we turn to You for wisdom to understand. It is Your precious name, I pray, amen.

With Love,

Shandyn

4 thoughts on “God Fills The Gaps . . .

  1. I had the same memories come up today! I had tears run down my cheeks then too! You’re amazing Shandyn!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shandyn this is so true. I had a Granddad who God filled the void with also. What an awesome Heavenly Father we have who sees our need and meets it.

    Like

    1. Yes, absolutely! So thankful for such an amazing Father who cares for us!

      Like

  3. I would also challenge others, and am challenged myself, to BE that gap filler.

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close